Debut album from The Highwomen out today

Become A What’s Up Rhode Island Supporter | Your voluntary contribution helps fund our local and independent journalism.

TheHighwomen, the acclaimed collaborative movement formed by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Maren Morris and Amanda Shires that debuted at this summer’s Newport Folk Festival, release their highly anticipated self-titled debut album today via Low CountrySound/Elektra Records.

In advance of the release, The Highwomen made their live concert debut at the Newport Folk Festival earlier this summer.

Of the landmark performance, and their only confirmed concert to date, Billboard praises, “set a sky-high standard with a performance that was the sum of its extraordinary parts,” while Rolling Stone declares, “it was clear that country music’s newest supergroup’s first time on stage had been a triumph.”

The Highwomen also performed several songs with Dolly Parton at the festival as part of the all-female headline set curated by Carlile. Of the collaboration, Consequence of Sound proclaims, “now etched in legend as one of Newport Folk’s most memorable moments…a lifetime musical zenith.”

Photo of Dolly Parton and Brandi Carlile at Newport Folk Festival by WURI’s Rick Farrell
- Advertisement -

Continually demonstrating the importance of inclusion and collaboration, The Highwomen are joined by several guest musicians, vocalists and songwriters across the album. The project features;

  • Sheryl Crow (vocals, background vocals, bass)
  • Yola (vocals, background vocals)
  • Cobb (acoustic/electric guitar)
  • Jason Isbell (acoustic/electric guitar)
  • Phil Hanseroth (bass, background vocals)
  • Tim Hanseroth (guitar, background vocals)
  • Chris Powell (drums)
  • Peter Levin (piano and keyboards)

Produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb, the were songs written by Carlile, Hemby, Morris, Shires, Isbell, the Hanseroth twins, Rodney Clawson, Lori McKenna, MirandaLambert and Ray LaMontagne among many others.


1. Highwomen (written by Jimmy Webb, Amanda Shires, Brandi Carlile)

2. Redesigning Women (written by Natalie Hemby, Rodney Clawson)

3. Loose Change (written by Maren Morris, Maggie Chapman, Daniel Layus)

4. Crowded Table (written by Natalie Hemby, Lori McKenna, Brandi Carlile)

5. My Name Can’t Be Mama (written by Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, Amanda Shires)

6. If She Ever Leaves Me (written by Amanda Shires, Jason Isbell, Chris Thompkins)

7. Old Soul (written by Maren Morris, Luke Dick, Laura Veltz)

8. Don’t Call Me (written by Amanda Shires, Peter Levin)

9. My Only Child (written by Natalie Hemby, Amanda Shires, Miranda Lambert)

10. Heaven Is A Honky Tonk (written by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Ray LaMontagne)

11. Cocktail And A Song (written by Amanda Shires)

12. Wheels Of Laredo (written by Tim Hanseroth, Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth)

Stream/purchase HERE

For more info, visit