Gamm Theatre to celebrate holiday season with ‘It’s A Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play’

GAMM PRESENTS WARM, WONDERFUL HOLIDAY TREAT FOR THE FAMILY

The Sandra Feinstein-Gamm Theatre (The Gamm) has announced it will celebrate the holiday season with It’s A Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play.

Adapted by Joe Landry from the screenplay by Frances Goodrich, Albert Hackett, Frank Capra and Jo Swerling, this family friendly play is set in a radio studio on a snowy Christmas Eve in 1946, with radio personalities retelling the redemptive story of George Bailey. Damon Kiely, chair of performance for The Theater School at Chicago’s DePaul University, makes his Gamm directorial debut transposing the movie classic from screen to stage, as if it were a live radio broadcast. A cast of 7 actors play multiple characters, with radio jingles and an onstage Foley artist creating real-time sound effects.

It’s A Wonderful Life: A Live Radio Play runs December 5-22 at The Gamm Theatre in Warwick. Tickets are $45 (regular) and $20 (child/student); preview performances (December 5-8) are $33. Season subscribers get $10 off regularprice tickets. Tickets: 401-723-4266 or gammtheatre.org.

ABOUT IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE: A LIVE RADIO PLAY

- Advertisement -

George, Clarence, and the entire town of Bedford Falls come to life in this staged 1940s radio broadcast of Frank Capra’s holiday movie classic. With live sound effects and a handful of actors, the story of beleaguered building and loan owner George Bailey, and his affable helper angel, Clarence, unfolds one fateful Christmas Eve as you’ve never seen it before. This captivating, lifeaffirming story is a holiday treat for the entire family!

CALENDAR OF PERFORMANCES

  • Thursday, Dec. 5 preview at 7:30
  • Friday, Dec. 6 preview at 7:30
  • Saturday, Dec. 7 preview at 2:00
  • Saturday, Dec. 7 preview at 7:30
  • Sunday, Dec. 8 press preview at 2:00
  • Tuesday, Dec. 10 opening at 6:30 (New time!)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 11 at 7:30
  • Thursday, Dec. 12 at 7:30
  • Friday, Dec. 13 at 10:00 (student matinee, open to public)
  • Friday, Dec. 13 at 7:30
  • Saturday, Dec. 14 at 2:00
  • Saturday, Dec. 14 at 7:30
  • Sunday, Dec. 15 at 2:00
  • Tuesday, Dec. 17 at 7:30
  • Wednesday, Dec. 18 at 7:30
  • Thursday, Dec. 19 at 7:30
  • Friday, Dec. 20 at 7:30
  • Saturday, Dec. 21 at 2:00
  • Saturday, Dec. 21 at 7:30
  • Sunday, Dec. 22 at 2:00

For more info and tickets, click here.